award nominationsboard winners nominations awardpresentations sponsors press contact
Welcome to the Helix Award | Home

past honorees showcase

2007 Helix Awards Announced
Genzyme, Amylin Pharmaceuticals, and TargeGen Recognized as Industry Leaders

2007 James D. Watson Helix Award Reception
Proudly Sponsored By:
Mintz Levin Cohn Ferris Glovsky and Popeo P.C.
BIO International Convention
Boston, MA
May 6–9, 2007

"These exceptional companies were chosen by their peers to be recognized as industry leaders. Each firm is devoting its resources to cutting-edge science that may lead to breakthrough, life-saving therapies. I congratulate them for their success and commitment to saving and improving patient lives," said Jim Greenwood, BIO President and CEO.

"We were pleased to present these outstanding companies with the James D. Watson Helix Award. These companies have demonstrated the highest standards of excellence and clearly demonstrate the creative character of the industry," stated Dr. Clinton T. Rubin, Director of the Center for Biotechnology.

The James D. Watson Helix Award, the bioscience industry’s sole award for outstanding corporate achievement, was created to celebrate the importance, the excellence and the creative character of the industry. The Award bears the name of James D. Watson, the Nobel Laureate who is recognized around the world along with his partner and co-recipient, Francis Crick, as having laid the foundation for the modern biotechnology industry. Modern biology, and the biotechnology industry it has spawned, would not existed as we know it today if not for Dr. Watson’s scientific achievements and leadership.

The biotech sector is at the leading edge of the changes that are already transforming the global economy for the new millennium. Our industry's progress depends in the continuing conquest of new intellectual frontier; our products seek to preserve life, improve health and enhance well-being; our people join together as partners in invention as well as in the revitalization of the communities in which our enterprises reside.



Continue in the Award Section

Site Designed by LIU NPDR Design