award nominationsboard winners nominations awardpresentations sponsors press contact
Helix Award Past Honorees | Navigate Back to Home Currently | Past Honorees
past honorees
James D. Watson Helix Award Website

Distinguished Winners

James D. Watson Helix Awards Honor Biotech’s Top Performers

Genzyme, Amylin Pharmaceuticals, and TargeGen Recognized as Industry Leadersion, at the 2007 BIO International Convention in Boston.

  • Large cap Company: Genzyme of Cambridge, MA
  • Small/mid-cap Company: Amylin Pharmaceuticals, Inc. of San Diego, CA
  • Private Company: TargeGen from San Diego, CA

Henri A. Termeer, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer accepting the award on behalf of Genzyme Corp

The winner of the large cap company category was Genzyme of Cambridge, MA. "We are honored to be recognized for the work that we have done on behalf of patients," said Henri A. Termeer, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Genzyme Corp. "This award is particularly meaningful following the approval last year of our treatment for Pompe disease, Myozyme. This life-saving therapy is now bringing new hope to patients around the world, and exemplifies our mission to innovate to improve the lives of those with debilitating diseases."
Amylin Pharmaceuticals, Inc. of San Diego, CA was the winner in the small/mid-cap category. "At Amylin, we are committed to improving lives through the discovery, development and commercialization of innovative medicines. It is an honor to be recognized by BIO, the Center for Biotechnology, and Stony Brook University as an entrepreneurial company that is dedicated to challenging science and changing the lives of our patients," stated Dr. Alain Baron, Senior Vice President of Research.

Alain Baron, M.D. - Senior Vice President accepting the award on behalf of Amylin Pharmaceuticals

Forrest H. Fuller, Ph.D. Sr. Director, Business Development, accepting the award on behalf of TargaGen
TargeGen from San Diego, CA received the award in the private category. "Since the inception of TargeGen, we have by design sought to develop new therapeutic approaches for major diseases in unprecedented and creative ways," stated Peter G. Ulrich, President, CEO and Co-Founder of TargeGen. "It is gratifying to all associated with TargeGen to be publicly recognized for achieving some small measure of success toward this objective which, we hope, will be ultimately fulfilled in the future when our drug candidates demonstrate they can improve clinical outcomes for the patient populations treated with our compounds."

The presentation of the 2007 James D. Watson Helix Award was generously sponsored by Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris

Past Winners 1994-2006

2006 Large-Capitalization Winner: Genentech Inc.,Emerging/Mid-Capitalization Winner: Alnylam Pharmaceuticals Inc., Novo Nordisk Inc.
2005 Biogen Idec & OSI Pharmaceuticals - Large Cap, Medarex Inc.- Mid Cap, Genmab A/S - International
2004 Genentech - Large Cap, Onyx Pharmaceuticals - Emerging-Mid Size Category, and Actelion Ltd. - International Category
2003 Gilead Sciences, Inc. Large Cap, Trimeris, Inc., Midcap and Serono International
2002 CV Therapeutics - Large Cap Category Isis Pharmaceuticals - Emerging - Midsize Category
2001 OSI Pharmaceuticals Inc.
2000 Genentech Inc.
1999 Immunex
1998 Biogen1997 Regeneron Pharmaceuticals
1996 The Collaborative Bioalliance

. Clinton T. Rubin, Director of the Center for Biot



Site Designed by LIU NPDR Design